vanilla magic cake

2013-05-01 @ 18:23:00
 
I just can´t believe may is here. First april fool jokes feels like yesterday and so does my birthday - which was in end of march!
Where did all those days go? Swioouushh.. and the days are gone, or what?
Well, that is kind of what it feels like.
 
Anyway, as this is one of these "free-day-from-school-but-I-have-nothing-planned-because-it´s-a-weekday-days" I started the morning with staying in bed for an hour. Then I ran some kilometres, made this vanilla magic cake and took a looong shower whilst the cake was in the oven. Later on I had some humus for lunch and a piece of cake..
 
 
The cake is called magic cake.
I thought it sounded very exiting when I first heard about it and spent at least half an hour googeling it. Conclusion was, that a thin batter which gets fluffy due to some eggwhite goes into the oven - where the magic happens - and comes out as a cake with three different layers.
 
Eeh what? How does that work?
And that my ladies and gentlemen is why you should learn chemie. Because then you and me would have known. Not that this is the kind of stuff you learn in chemie in school, but I´m sure you get the hint...
 
If the chemical part rather dosn´t interest you there is still other exiting stuff about this cake.
 
 
 Just think about the feeling when it looks like you have put in hours of work making a three layer cake, when the truth is it took you maximum fifteen minutes to finsh the batter. That is the best thing about this cake in my opinion.
 
The other funny thing about the cake are how different the layers actually become. On top you will find sponge cake,  in the middle a consistency like firm vanilla custard and on the bottom like a soft pie crust.
 
And now you wonder what it all tasted like? Good?
To be honest I was not so very impressed by the taste, but don´t count on me. You know, I hate custard and half of the cake is custard... which means it is not that surprising it is not my kind of cake.
Nevertheless the two boys in the house really enjoyed it.
But that was also a thing I found out whilst googelig - this is a cake you either love or hate.
Try it yourself and tell me what you think.
 
Inspiration for the cake recipe came from by blondie. A swedish food blog with lots of recipes you can´t wait to try. Check her out!
 
vanilla magic cake
125 gram butter
115 gram flour
5 dl milk
3 teaspoon vanilla powder
1 tablespoon water
4 egg yolks, room temperature
150 gram icing sugar
4 eggwhites, room temperature
4 drops of vinegar
 
_____
 
Melt the butter. Let it cool.
 
Beat icing sugar, water, vanilla sugar and egg yolks until fluffy and white. Pour in the cooled butter and whisk again.
 
Sift the flour into the mixture a little at a time and whisk until well blended.
Heat the milk to body temperature (37 degrees) and then whisk it into the batter.
 
Beat the egg whites with the vinegar until you have a solid foam.
Gently fold the egg whites into the batter.
 
Grease and flour a baking pan about 20x20cm and pour in the batter.
 
Bake for an hour at 160 degrees and let it cool completely before serving.
 
Dust with icing sugar and serve with light cream.
 
__________
 
magisk vaniljkaka
 
Se receptet på by blondies blogg här.
 
 

Kommentera här!
Postat av: Josefin -My Happy Days-

Ser gaaaalet gott ut. mm! ♥


Svar: hihi, vad bra! <3
tastebyella.blogg.se

2013-05-02 @ 23:35:47
URL: http://landhagen.blogg.se/
Postat av: Krille

Vanilj är livet :) Fina bilder.

Svar: Kind of. Tack!
tastebyella.blogg.se

2013-05-03 @ 21:30:13
URL: http://nukokarjag.se
Postat av: Anna Fritz

Sjukt gott!

2013-05-16 @ 19:46:44
URL: http://aannaf.blogg.se/
Postat av: Mathilda - PHOTOGRAPHS

Åh så mumsigt! :)

Svar: <3
tastebyella.blogg.se

2013-05-23 @ 19:55:25
URL: http://bymathilda.se

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment. You make my day! BR>

Merci!


bloglovin


Namn:
Remember me? Du kikar väl in igen?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0